According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, red light runners cause hundreds of deaths and tens of thousands of injuries each year. In 2009, 676 people were killed and an estimated 130,000 were injured in crashes that involved red light running. About half of the deaths in red light running crashes are pedestrians, bicyclists, and occupants in other vehicles who are hit by the red light runners.
What is a Red Light violation?Straight Through: A red-light violation occurs when a motorist crosses over the white stop line after the traffic signal has turned red. However, motorists already in the intersection when the signal changes to red, waiting to turn for example, are not considered red-light violators. Right Turn: A red-light violation occurs if the motorist does not complete the right turn in a safe and prudent manner. Right Turn with 'No Turn On Red' sign: A red-light violation occurs when a motorist completes a right turn at the intersection A red light camera notice of violation does not appear on your driving record.
Where are the red light cameras located?
- SB S Tuttle Ave @ Bahia Vista St.
- EB Bahia Vista St @ S Tuttle Ave.
- NB N Washington Blvd @ Fruitville Rd.
- EB Fruitville Rd @ N Washington Blvd.
- WB Fruitville Rd @ N Tuttle Ave.
- NB N Tamiami Trail / US 41 @ University Pkwy.
- SB N Tamiami Trail / US 41 @ University Pkwy.
- NB S Tuttle Ave. @ Bahia Vista St.
- SB N. Washington Blvd @ 17th St.
- NB S. Tamiami Tr. / US 41 @ Siesta Dr.
- SB N. Beneva Rd. @ Fruitville Rd.
- NB S Tamiami Trail / US 41 @ Bee Ridge Rd.
- SB S Tamiami Trail / US 41 @ Bee Ridge Rd.
- WB Bee Ridge Rd @ S Tamiami Trail / US 41.
- SB N. Lockwood Ridge Rd. @ Fruitville Blvd.
- WB Fruitville Rd. @ N. Lockwood Ridge Rd.
- SB N. Tuttle Ave. @ Fruitville Rd.
- EB Fruitville Rd. @ N. Lockwood Ridge Rd.
- NB S. Tamiami Tr. / US 41 @ Bahia Vista St.
- SB S. Tamiami Tr. / US 41 @ Bahia Vista St.
How do red light cameras work?
Each intersection is outfitted with a high-definition video camera. The cameras are activated by sensors which are located at the intersection. The cameras are activated when a vehicle is detected by the sensors after the light has turned red. The camera takes a video clip of each violation from which 3 still shots are captured. The program operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week and operates in all weather conditions. The system is only activated when a vehicle runs a red light. All intersections with red light cameras are clearly marked. The City of Sarasota Police Department reviews every Violation before the Notice Of Violation is issued. A Notice of Violation contains an image of a violating vehicle before it enters the intersection, while it is in the intersection, and the license plate of the vehicle.
Why did I receive this notice of violation?
A Notice of Violation for a Red Light Infraction is issued when your vehicle fails to stop at a clearly marked stop line or at any other stopping point described in the ordinance when facing a steady red signal.
How much is the fine?
The owner of a motor vehicle is liable for payment of a statutory penalty of $158.00. There are no points assessed for this violation and it does not appear on your driving record.
If you fail to pay the notice of violation, a Uniform Traffic Citation will be issued via certified mail and the fine increases to $264.00, still no points will be assessed to your driving record.
How much time do I have to pay my "Notice of Violation"?
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the due date on your Notice of Violation. The due date for payment is located on the top and bottom right of your Notice of Violation.
What are my options?
1. Pay the fine
- ONLINE PAYMENT: The fastest and easiest way to pay your $158.00 penalty is online. Go to
https://secure.redlightviolations.com and logon with your Notice # and PIN shown in the red box on the front of your notice. Click the Pay button. There is a convenience fee for this service.
PAYMENT BY PHONE: Call toll free 1-866-285-8999 24 hours a day. There is a convenience fee.
- PAYMENT BY MAIL: Mail your check or money order (payable to the City of Sarasota) in the enclosed envelope with the coupon printed at the bottom of the reverse side of your Notice. PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH. Be sure to put the Notice # (see reverse) on the face of your payment.
City of Sarasota
Intersection Safety Program
PO Box 30305
Tampa, FL 33630-3305
2. Submit an Affidavit
As the registered owner of the vehicle, you are deemed responsible for the violation and the payment of a $158.00 penalty unless, in compliance with Florida Statute § 316.0083(1)(d)1.a-d, you establish by a sworn affidavit that a statutory exemption applies. The exemptions are that the motor vehicle: (a) passed through the intersection in order to yield the right-of-way to an emergency vehicle or as part of a funeral procession; (b) passed through the intersection at the direction of a law enforcement officer; (c) was, at the time of the violation, in the care, custody, or control of another person; or (d) a UTC was issued by a law enforcement officer to the driver of the motor vehicle for the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and § 316.075(1)(c)1 stated in this Notice. The affidavit must be sworn before a notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths.
If you assert that the vehicle was in the care, custody, or control of another person, you must provide the name, address, date of birth, and, if known, the driver's license number of the person who leased, rented, or otherwise had care, custody, or control of the vehicle at the time of the violation. The person named on the affidavit will be issued a notice of violation and allowed 60 days to pay the $158.00. If the vehicle was stolen, then the affidavit must include a copy of a police report showing the vehicle to have been stolen. If you assert that a UTC was issued by a law enforcement officer for the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(c)1 stated in this notice, then you must include the serial number of the UTC. For faster processing, you may, but are not required to, include a copy of the UTC.
If your affidavit complies with the requirements of Florida Statute § 316.0083, then no further action will be taken and you will receive a notice of dismissal. If it is determined that your affidavit does not comply with those requirements set forth in the statute or it is not received in time to process, you will receive a Uniform Traffic Citation issued by the City of Sarasota Police Department at a HIGHER COST. The submission of a false affidavit is a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable under Fla. Stat. § 775.082 or § 775.083 by a term of imprisonment not to exceed sixty (60) days and/or a fine not to exceed $500.
It is recommended that the affidavit or payment be received eight (8) days prior to the due date specified on the front page of this notice to be appropriately processed or a UTC will be issued at a higher cost. The affidavit should be mailed to City of Sarasota, Intersection Safety Program, P.O. Box 30305, Tampa, FL 33630-3305.
You may obtain an Affidavit by visiting https://secure.redlightviolations.com
3. Contest the Violation
To request a hearing on the above referenced Notice pursuant to Florida Statute § 316.0083, please submit the signed and dated coupon below in the envelope provided. The petitioner understands they will be notified of the date, time and location of the hearing. The Local Hearing Officer shall issue a final administrative order. If the Notice of Violation is upheld, the petitioner will be required to pay $158.00 plus a $50.00 administrative hearing fee. All hearings are held at City Hall 1565 1st St. Sarasota, FL. on the first and third Thursday of every month at 3:30 PM.
What happens if I ignore the Notice of Violation?
If the violation has not been paid within 60 days following the initial mailing, then a Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC) shall be issued and sent via certified mail. Failure to pay the UTC may result in the suspension of your driver's license.
Will a violation result in points on my license or impact my insurance rates?
No points will be assessed to the driver’s license and a violation may not be used to set motor vehicle insurance rates regardless of disposition of the violation pursuant to Florida Statute § 322.27(3)(d)6However, if the owner/driver pays the civil penalty or is otherwise found guilty, the violation will be recorded as a conviction on the driver’s record.
What company provides the red-light camera program in Sarasota?
The City of Sarasota has contracted with RedSpeed USA to provide the Automated Red Light Enforcement program. RedSpeed USA installs and maintains all equipment related to this program and processes violations captured by the equipment. RedSpeed USA is a leading provider of technology and business solutions that support electronic toll and traffic management programs worldwide. More information about RedSpeed USA is available at http://www.redspeed-usa.com/
What if I was not the driver/owner of the vehicle at the time of the violation?
You may submit an Affidavit consistent with the requirements listed above or as more specifically provided in Florida Statute § 316.0083(d)1. An Affidavit supporting this specific exemption must include the name, address, date of birth, and, if known, the driver’s license number of the person who leased, rented, or otherwise had care, custody, or control of your motor vehicle at the time of the violation. If the vehicle was stolen at the time of the violation, the Affidavit must include a police report. You may obtain this Affidavit either by downloading and printing the form from https://secure.redlightviolations.com
Who can I contact if I have a question?
Sarasota Police Department Intersection Safety Office
941-487-0022 ( Voicemail or Text )
A law enforcement officer will return your call